Music, What makes you happy?

Is it a myth? Vinyl, CD or MP3.


The reason I bring this up, I heard Neil Young talking about his dislike of MP3’s and figured I would take a look the whole thing. I have spent the last few weeks taking a good hard look into the reality of this argument. I’ll be the first one to admit that I own a lot of Vinyl, but I also have a number of CD’s and MP3 albums.
If you are really into the quality of music you may know this already. Vinyl is analog, CD’s and MP3’s are digital. What does that really mean? Well I can’t explain it any better than this website did so you can look at this. What does that mean to your ears? They are actually hearing more from an analog recording than from CD’s or MP3’s. Funny thing is though if you want to have the closest to Vinyl while you are out traveling around, .wav is a better choice.
When I record my Vinyl off to my PC to listen to on my other players I’ve always made a .wav then convert it to a different format, but I always save those .wav files because I do like them better. A couple articles talk about all the issues with the formats and sound. I would like to share those with you instead of me rehashing what they had to say.
Is the sound on vinyl records better than on CDs or DVDs?
Why Neil Young Hates MP3 — And What You Can Do About It. The title is a little deceptive but it talks to the techy side of things as well as Neil Young’s take on MP3’s.
I’m not here to try and sway you on converting to vinyl and .wav’s, I’m just trying to give you an idea on what I’ve heard from a number of musicians who also say they have Vinyl and won’t be without it.
I did find this fact interesting, “The evidence of vinyl’s comeback is much more than anecdotal. The last three years have each set successive records for vinyl sales in the CD era. In 2010, 2.8 million LPs were sold, up 14% from 2009–and more than any other year since Nielsen SoundScan began tracking sales in 1991. Vinyl sales now account for 1% of all album sales in the U.S., compared to 26% for legal digital downloads; CDs make up the rest.” According to Zack O’Malley Greensburg at Forbes Magazine.
That in itself is a very telling stat.
If your a purist you like Vinyl, and if you travel a lot you may like .wav’s. No matter how much I like to listen to music while I am out, when I play music on my phone it’s still not as good as my MP3 player or my CD’s in the car.

Leave a Reply

