Music, What makes you happy?

Westword Music Showcase 2012


Ladies and gentleman, it is that time of year again. The time of year when summer is in full force and everyone is craving great music. Yes, this past weekend was the Westword Music Showcase. Over 150 local bands and big name lineups stormed Denver’s Golden Triangle to bring audiophiles to their knees with joy. Now, I’ll admit, I’m kinda new to jumping on the Showcase bandwagon. Last year was my first time going and I had a blast. I went into the Showcase with more of a laissez-faire attitude, letting the wind (or my friends) lead me to new venues and artists. Sometimes it worked, most of the time it didn’t. So this year I went to the Showcase with a plan: to diversify in the performances I saw. Here were my top picks:

Force Publique – Dark, Post-Punk, Rock, the venue was dark and out of the sun, perfect for the duo

Caleb Slade – Piano-driven compositions, he has such a sweet voice. Always on my Mind (great track; melancholy, hopeful, bittersweet, kinda reminds me of early Coldplay/Jamie Cullum)

Le Divorce – Clever, angry, sexy rock, been playing the Showcase for years and are considered a staple to the event

Broken Tongues – Rock with Hip-Hop tendencies, reminds me of the Flobots

Achille Lauro – Indie Rock

John Templeton – great DJ, he’s got beats for dancing or just bobbing your head to

The Foodchain – classic hip-hop, live instruments (city hall was jammed pack for this group)

The Foot. – Rock, lead vocalist is amazing and has a fantastic range (reminds me of Coheed and Cambria)

Karl Denson’s Beastie Boys Tribute – Denson’s a saxophonist who started out plying for the likes of Lenny Kravitz. The Tribute was so on point. With his sax playing, live rappers, and a live horn section, his performance was one that will talked about for awhile.

Girl Talk – Mashups, awesome end to the night. The crowd was jammed-packed and everyone was dancing the entire time…such a craftsman!

Official afterparty – Classixx at the Bluebird

If any of you went, then you know how amazing the lineup was. Even if you weren’t able to go, please check out these artists. As stated earlier, plenty of the bands and artists are local and I’m sure they’d appreciate the support. And if you still need convincing of how fun it is here are some pics to prove it!

Peace
-Romero

The Showcase Crew!


John Templeton


Achille Lauro


VIP Baby!


Le Divorce


The Foodchain


Karl Denson and his Beastie Boys Tribute


The Foot


Force Publique


Girl Talk

Leave a Reply

